Doctor Who & Peaky Blinders win big at the BAFTA TV Craft Awards

BAFTA Television Craft AwardsThe great and good behind-the-scenes of British television gathered on Sunday night for the BAFTA Television Craft Awards.  Stephen Mangan returned as host for the awards, with presenters including Arthur Davill, Tom Riley, Ophelia Lovibond and Emilia Fox.

The event, held at London’s The Brewery, saw wins for Doctor Who’s 50th anniversary programmes, The Day Of The Doctor and An Adventure In Space And Time, and also wins for In The Flesh, Ripper Street and The Fall.

Going into it, Peaky Blinders had the most nominations, and it converted two of these to victories, winning the big prize for Best Directing – Fiction, which Otto Bathurst picked up. Asked why it’s so successful, he cited the originality, saying, ‘people from literally all walks of life, from the top of the industry down to the regular guy on the street, they love it.’

Peaky Blinders also won for Photography & Lighting. The gangster series, which stars Cillian Murphy, Sam Neill and Helen McCrory, will be returning for a second season, with Tom Hardy in tow, later this year.

It was a good night for Doctor Who, with two of its 50-year anniversary specials picking up awards – the episode The Day of the Doctor won for Special, Visual & Graphic Effects, and An Adventure In Space And Time, based on the early years of the show, won for Make Up and Hair Design. Vickie Lang said it was ‘a hair and makeup artists’ dream job’, and described David Bradley, who stars as William Hartnell, as ‘a lovely actor to work with’.

There were wins for some of the other most talked about British Shows of the year: The Fall (Best Editing – Fiction), Broadchurch (Original Music), Downton Abbey (Best Costume), Ripper Street (Production Design) and Dancing on the Edge (Sound – Fiction). BBC Three’s In the Flesh picked up a gong for the Best Writing for Dominic Mitchell, who won a Breakthrough award last year.

Graham Linehan picked up his fifth BAFTA, for The IT Crowd, but said he’d have preferred to win for Count Arthur Strong, for which he was also nominated, to give the currently-airing show more publicity.

Strictly Come Dancing won the Special Award, for its contribution to British television. Series director Nikki Parsons told us they ‘have someone in mind’ to replace Bruce Forsyth.

The writers of 4-part series Run, Daniel Fajemisin-Duncan and Marlon Smith won for Breakthrough Talent.

There were also wins for Educating Yorkshire, The X Factor and Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway, D-Day: As It Happens, The Murder Trial, Rebuilding the World Trade Center and David Bowie- Five Years.